Cape No. 7 Won 5 Golden Horse Awards

I’m really looking forward to watching this movie from Taiwan: Cape No. 7.  I keep checking newspapers and the Internet, but I still can’t figure out when the movie is going to be released here in Australia.  I may not be looking at the right place, I’m afraid.  So if anyone knows anything about this (yes, I am referring to you Mark Anthony Jones), please leave me a note.  In the meantime, I am going to sign up for a DVD, which will probably come out in the next few weeks.  It would be nice if I could get hold of it for Christmas.

Cape No. 7 is a romantic comedy that has broken most box office records in Taiwan, Hong Kong and a few other Southeast Asian countries.  The censors in the People’s Republic of China are attempting to put a block to its release in mainland China.  Rumours say that Chinese officials in charge of cross-strait affairs are not happy with the movie’s portrayal of love and friendship between the Taiwanese and the Japanese people.  However, Chinese officials from the State Administration of Radio, Film and Television (SARFT) have so far denied the allegation, claiming a subtitling problem as the technical issue behind the delay.  For those who want to understand more about how people in Taiwan have responded to the argie-bargie surrounding the release of this movie in the PRC, I highly recommend this very well written article from one of my favourite bloggers, Mike in Taipei.

The result of the 45th Golden Horse Award has just been announced.  Cape No. 7 won a total of five awards, including: the Outstanding Taiwan Film of the Year, the Outstanding Taiwan Filmmaker of the Year, the Best Supporting Actor, the Best Original Film Score and the Best Original Film Song.

It’s very obvious that Cape No. 7 is filled with beautiful music.  Here is a good adaption of a very old melody.  I like the way the Mandarin lyric blends in with the Japanese one.  It’s a true celebration of cross-culture friendship.  Enjoy it.

This entry was posted in media censorship, Taiwan, Under the Tree and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cape No. 7 Won 5 Golden Horse Awards

  1. justrecently says:

    A report on Radio Taiwan International pointed into the same direction (Taiwan-Japanese relations) last night. The [Taiwanese] Government Information Office is lobbying for the film’s release in China, saying that Chinese filmgoers will be sure to enjoy the film’s portrayal of Taiwan’s people and places, according to the RTI website.

  2. C.A. Yeung says:

    There is absolutely no point in blocking the movie’s release in China. Apparently pirated DVD copies of it are everywhere in the PRC since the first day the movie was screened in Taiwan.

    Chen Yunlin is said to be the Chinese government official who is instrumental to the Chinese film authority’s change of mind. I have doubt about whether he actually did that. But that’s another story. What is interesting is that when the movie was screened for Chen during his visit to Taiwan, Chen admitted that he had already watched the movie. Now it couldn’t be possible unless he had access to a pirated copy. In my view, that says it all. And I rest my case.

    Here is a very interesting (and in my view non-biased) discussion about the banning/blocking fiasco at this forum.

    I particularly like this comment:

    “I thought being banned was a good thing. Wouldn’t everybody want to run out and see it just because it was banned? When I was a kid I used to dream about writing a book that would be banned…of course, I never got round to writing it.”

    Gee, it’s good to find someone who shares my secret passion. It proves I’m not the only weird person in the world.

Leave a Reply

